Where would I be today without books and reading? by Jenny Lussier

by Shawn

For the Love of Reading. #Why Read Books

Nerdy Book Club

Reading has always been an essential part of me. The daughter of two teachers, reading books is one of my earliest memories. Dick and Jane, Have You Seen My Mother?, Dr. Seuss books, and so many more. I headed off to kindergarten already reading. Little House on the Prairie books were my first choice back then and not just to read, but to act out scenes with my dolls or out in the cornfield with my brother. We truly were pioneers. Already I had realized the kind of impact books and stories could have.

I continued to devour books and they continued to affect me in ways I could not have imagined back then. Somewhere along the way I stumbled upon Good Night, Mr. Tom by Michelle Magorian. This book sits on the shelf in my living room now. It shook me to realize that some children’s lives were so utterly completely different from mine. While…

View original post 449 more words

